Member Awards

2024 Award Nominations/Applications
Deadline for Submissions Extended to December 15, 2023

Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award

Sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual. Presented to an Alaskan pharmacist with current AKPhA membership who received an entry degree in pharmacy less than 10 years ago (2013 graduation date or later) practicing in a retail, institutional, managed care or consulting pharmacy and who has actively participated in national pharmacy associations, professional programs, state association activities and/or community service.

Submit Nomination Online

Bowl of Hygeia

Sponsored by the APhA Foundation and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA) with support from Boehringer-Ingelheim. Presented to a pharmacist who has compiled an outstanding record of community service and civic leadership, which, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession. The recipient must be a pharmacist practicing in Alaska, must be living, must not have been a previous recipient and is currently not serving, nor has served within the immediate past two years as an officer of AKPhA in other than an ex-officio capacity or its Awards Committee.

Submit Nomination Online

Distinguished Alaskan Pharmacist Award

Sponsored by AKPhA. This award was created in 1989 by the Alaska Pharmacy Association to recognize an Alaskan pharmacist who has worked in Alaska for over 10 years and devoted much of their career working diligently to promote and support the profession of pharmacy and the community in which they live. Furthermore, they have served as a role model for younger pharmacists to emulate through their sustained contributions to the profession over time.

Submit Nomination Online

Pharmacy Technician Award

Sponsored by AKPhA. This award was created in 2001 and presented by the Alaska Pharmacy Association (AKPhA) to a pharmacy technician currently employed in a pharmacy in Alaska who has demonstrated outstanding service. Preference is given to members of AKPhA.

Submit Nomination Online

NASPA Excellence in Innovation Award

Sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc. The Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award was first introduced in 1993 by Elan Pharmaceuticals to recognize pharmacists who meet the challenge of providing quality, cost-effective care in a rapidly changing healthcare environment with creative new solutions. A nominee should be a practicing pharmacist in Alaska and should have demonstrated innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care. Must be a current AKPhA member and not a past recipient.

Submit Nomination Online

Fellow of AKPhA

Pharmacists who have been members of AKPhA for over 10 years are encouraged to apply for our Fellowship designation.  This award recognizes the recipient’s achievements and dedication to the practice of pharmacy and the community, and to mentoring future pharmacy leaders.  Fellows will be honored at Convention as mentors to new members, first-time attendees, and our New Practitioners/Young Leaders Committee.  This designation is for life as long as the individual is an active member of AKPhA. Must be a current member of AKPhA and a member for over 10 years, and NOT on the awards committee.

Apply Online

Awards will be presented at the AKPhA Annual Convention on Saturday, February 17, 2024, at the Hilton Anchorage.   

Awards Committee Chairperson:  Aimee Young