Welcome to the Alaska Pharmacists Association

The Mission of the Alaska Pharmacists Association is to preserve, promote and lead the profession of pharmacy in Alaska.

The Alaska Pharmacists Association (AKPhA) is committed to giving Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians an opportunity to voice their issues and concerns regarding pharmacy practice in Alaska.

Whether you are from Southeast, Southcentral or the Interior, members of the Board comprise each region to ensure equal representation.

AKPhA was founded in 1956 when the state was still a territory. Although the American Pharmaceutical Association recognized the association in 1957, it fell dormant for a number of years and reemerged in 1966. Since that time, AKPhA has held annual conventions in Anchorage traditionally around the Fur Rendezvous celebration.

Click HERE to view our Strategic Plan


Independent Dispensing by a Pharmacist of an Opioid Overdose Drug

The Board of Pharmacy regulations concerning standards for the independent dispensing on an opioid overdose drug became effective November 26, 2016.  For details:  Board of Pharmacy Regulation


2017 Annual Convention--Thank You for Attending!

February 10-12, 2017, Sheraton Anchorage

Convention Co-Chairs:  Christopher Chong and Jessica Thompson


Click the above link to download handouts of presentations--paper copies will not be made a convention. 


Evaluations for each session attended must be completed online prior to Midnight on Sunday, February 19th in order to receive CE credit.  Click the link above to access evaluations. 


  • Our exhibition area is currently full--click here for a preview of our participants!
  •  Thank you to our generous sponsors:
    • Saturday Buffet Breakfast with Exhibitors--Sponsored by Shields Against Addiction
    • Saturday Morning Coffee Break--Sponsored by AKPhA Scholarship Committee
    • Saturday Lunch with Exhibitors--Sponsored by Recoveryas.com
    • Saturday Dessert Social/Afternoon Coffee Break--Sponsored by Cardinal Health
    • Saturday Entertainment--Sponsored by PickPoint
    • Sunday Continental Breakfast--Sponsored by Geneva Woods
    • Sunday Morning Coffee Break--Sponsored by AmerisourceBergen
    • General Sponsor--PioneerRx